We have updated our cookie policy to reflect recent changes in the UK/EU law concerning the use of cookies and tracking technologies. We use cookies on this website (including the page you are currently viewing) to ensure that the site functions smoothly and to help us understand how we can improve it. If you continue without changing your settings, you are agreeing to receive all cookies from the SLA website.

or view our cookie policy to find out more

Show Menu | Show Sidebar (Login/Search)

School Librarian of the Year Award 2011

School Librarian of the Year

Carol WebbCarol Webb, Librarian at Forest Hill School in London, was declared 2011 School Librarian of the Year at the Final on 3 October and presented with her Award by author Philip Reeve.

Dawn Woods, Chair of the SLA School Librarian of the Year Selection Committee, said: "Carol was the first school librarian we visited on our quest this year and she certainly raised the bar at Olympic standard heights. The library is immediately visible from outside the school and beckons to all who pass. Within the school it is a bright focal point. Carol's information literacy approach would put some Higher Education establishments to shame. Then to top it all, we were very impressed with Carol's links to publishers. Admittedly the school has an advantage being so close to London publishing offices, but so are another few hundred schools. Carol saw the opportunities and seized them and this has resulted in an all boys' school of avid readers defying all stereotypes."

Full profile of Carol Webb.

Slya 2011 Winner Group

Award Ceremony - left to right: Tricia Adams (SLA Director), Dawn Woods  (SLYA Chair of the Judges), Alan Hurcombe (MD Scholastic UK), Carol Webb (School Librarian of the Year 2011), Philip Reeve, Miranda KcKearney (SLA President), Ginette Doyle (SLA Chair), Sally Duncan (SLA Assistant Director).

Congratulations to Carol and to the other exceptional school librarians in the final: Helen Emery, LRC Manager at King Edward VI School in Lichfield, Staffs and Wendy Roberts, Senior School Librarian at Ardingly College in West Sussex.

Honour List for 2011

Three exceptional school librarians were selected as the Honour List finalists for the SLA School Librarian of the Year 2011. Read their full profiles:

Helen Emery, LRC Manager, King Edward VI School, Lichfield, Staffordshire

Wendy Roberts, Senior School Librarian, Ardingly College, West Sussex

Carol Webb, Librarian, Forest Hill School, London.


Read the full press release about the announcement of the SLYA Honour List:

SLYA Honour List Press Release

PDF file, 161 kB

Requires Adobe Reader

Previous Years' Winners

  • 2010 (Kevin Sheehan and Duncan Wright)
  • 2009 (Lucy Bakewell)
  • 2008 (Nikki Heath)
  • 2007 (Ingrid Hopson)
  • 2006 (Anne-Marie Tarter)
  • 2005 (Anne Robinson)

About the Award

The School Library Association created this Award in 2004 in response to the need for recognition of the excellent work that is carried out in school libraries every day, and to highlight best practice through celebrating those whose work is outstanding. Nominees do not need to be members of the SLA, and may be from any phase of education.


The Award in 2011 is sponsored by Scholastic. The SLA is very grateful for this sponsorship, without which the Award could not continue in its current format.



For information about how to put forward a school librarian for the School Librarian of the Year Award, please see the Nominations page.