We have updated our cookie policy to reflect recent changes in the UK/EU law concerning the use of cookies and tracking technologies. We use cookies on this website (including the page you are currently viewing) to ensure that the site functions smoothly and to help us understand how we can improve it. If you continue without changing your settings, you are agreeing to receive all cookies from the SLA website.

or view our cookie policy to find out more

Show Menu | Show Sidebar (Login/Search)

Inspiration Award

Inspiration Award Logo

The SLA Inspiration Award is given to the school library space that shows inspiration, innovation, creativity and resourcefulness in its library design and in use, either through creative use of specific products or promotions. What matters is not how big the school library space is, but what it has achieved with the available resources and the challenges it faces.

This Award is open to the UK and Ireland. 

The full citations for this year's shortlisted Primary and Secondary schools are now available to view at Inspiration Award 2017 along with the announcement of our very worthy winners.

2020 Inspiration Award

The Inspiration Award runs on a two-year cycle, but will open for submissions in the Autumn Term 2019, for the next Award in 2020.

If you are currently refurbishing, or even building a new school library, keep an eye out for announcements about the submission procedure for the the SLA Inspiration Award 2020.

The Inspiration Award takes place biennially with prizes awarded in both primary and secondary sectors. The Selection Panel's visits to schools that make the longlist take place from late spring to early in the Summer term with the shortlist announced in late June/early July.

The Award is sponsored by Gresswell, part of the Demco Europe family of companies, who generously offer prize money of £750 for the winners and £200 for the runners up in each category.

Further Information

The Inspiration Award is the successor to the SLA's Library Design Award, founded in 2010. Full information about this predecessor Award is available here.

The Inspiration Award runs alongside the SLA's School Librarian of the Year Award.


The SLA Inspiration Award is sponsored by Gresswell.
Gresswell Logo