We have updated our cookie policy to reflect recent changes in the UK/EU law concerning the use of cookies and tracking technologies. We use cookies on this website (including the page you are currently viewing) to ensure that the site functions smoothly and to help us understand how we can improve it. If you continue without changing your settings, you are agreeing to receive all cookies from the SLA website.

or view our cookie policy to find out more

Show Menu | Show Sidebar (Login/Search)

SLA Blog » June 2005RSS Feed RSS

The SLA blog contains news about the SLA and topical information of general interest to our members. The blog has been running since 2004. An RSS 2.0 feed and information about how to subscribe to the blog are available.

Older blog posts are still available, though archived, on the website, but please check the date at the top of the post to make sure the offer or information is likely to be valid.

New School Reading Champions launched

The National Reading Campaign has launched School Reading Champions, an initiative that draws on the success of previous Reading Champions activity celebrating male reading role models.

The scheme for schools, piloted earlier this year, offers a flexible and motivational framework designed to engage boys in developing a reading culture. It contains three key ingredients: ownership - giving boys a say in how the project is delivered; mentors - providing motivation and guidance from adult coaches; and support materials - including role models, posters and other extrinsic rewards.

0 comments · Add a comment

Kingsbridge Community College wins £4,000 of books

Kingsbridge Community College in Kingsbridge, Devon, is celebrating after English and media teacher Caroline Gardner won a staggering £4,000 worth of books in The Secondary Book Prize Draw at The Education Show 2005, held in March at the National Exhibition Centre in Birmingham.

Ms Gardner won books and resources of her choice for Kingsbridge Community College, a specialist science college, from the latest catalogues of eight top educational publishers, who each donated £500 towards the prize – Chambers Harrap, Crown House Publishing, Evans, Heineman Press, Hodder Murray, Network Education Press, Oxford University Press and Pearson Longman.

She entered The Secondary Book Prize, organised by Educational Events, in the Publishing Village at the Show in March 2005 – her first visit to The Education Show. The event is the largest annual gathering of educational publishers in the UK.

Ms Gardner, who is also reading co-ordinator across all Key Stages at this 1200-mixed pupil school for 11-18 year olds, was presented with her prize during a short ceremony at the school, attended by representatives from the publishing houses, Educational Events and co-organisers of The Education Show, Emap Education.

0 comments · Add a comment

Winner announced for 15th Bisto Book of the Year

The results of the fifteenth Bisto Book of the Year Award were announced yesterday, Thursday, 2 June 2005, at a ceremony in the Bank of Ireland Arts Centre in Dublin.

The overall winner was Kate Thompson for her book Annan Water. Kate was presented with the Bisto Book of the Year Perpetual Trophy and a cheque for €3,000 by Minister of State, Síle de Valera, TD, Department of Education and Science, and fellow author and guest speaker Cathy Kelly.

Kate is the first author in the history of the Awards to win the overall Bisto Book of the Year award three times. She previously won in 2002 for her book The Beguilers and was a joint winner in 2003 for The Alchemist’s Apprentice.

This year’s Eilís Dillon Award went to Siobhán Ní Shíthigh and Seán SeosamhMac an tSíthigh, author and illustrator of An Bhó Riabhach, published by AnGum. Siobhán and Seán were presented with a specially commissioned glass sculpture and a cheque for €1,000.

Three Merit Awards (€1,000 and framed certificate) were also presented to: Oisín McGann for The Gods and their Machines, Oliver Jeffers for How to Catch a Star and Alan Clarke, Corinna Askin and Emma Byrne for their illustrations in Something beginning with P. Also shortlisted for this year’s awards were Ré Ó Laighléis for Goimh agusscéalta eile; Kate MacLachlan for Love my Enemy; Olwyn Whelan for her illustrations in The Star Child; and Sam McBratney and Anita Jeram, author and illustrator of You’re All My Favourites.

This year saw the introduction of a ‘shadowing scheme’, in which 14 classes from around the country chose their own overall winner from the shortlist. St. Colman's Boys National School from Kanturk, Cork and Sandford Parish National School from Ranelagh were both picked to attend the Bisto Awards ceremony and meet the shortlisted authors and illustrators.

The Bisto Book of the Year Awards were established fifteen years ago and are now an eagerly anticipated event on the Irish literary calendar. The Awards recognise excellence in the field of children’s literature by Irish authors, illustrators and publishers.

0 comments · Add a comment

LILAC papers online

Papers from the inaugural Librarians' Information Literacy Conference, held at Imperial College April 4 - 6 2005, are now online.

0 comments · Add a comment